Development Department

Due to COVID-19 our office staff has been reduced on a daily basis.  The Office still remains operational however the best way to reach us is to email


The Development Department consists of the combination of four existing departments under one umbrella. These divisions consist of the:

  • Building Division
  • Engineering Division
  • Planning Division
  • Zoning Division


The eleven staff from each of these divisions work cooperatively together under the supervision of the Director of Planning to implement the functions within each of the Divisions consists of:

  • Assistant Building Inspector
  • Assistant Planner
  • Board of Architectural Review Secretary
  • Building Inspector
  • Deputy Town Engineer
  • Director of Planning
  • Engineering Technician
  • Environmental Coordinator
  • Office Manager
  • Planning Board Secretary
  • Zoning Board Secretary  


The Development Department provides staff support to the:

  • Beautification Advisory Board
  • Board of Architectural Review
  • Conservation Board
  • Environmental Review Board
  • Planning Board
  • Town Board
  • Zoning Board of Appeals


Administrative responsibility for the Development Department is vested in the Director of Planning. The Building Division and the Engineering Division serve as the building, zoning and code enforcement division of the Town Government.